EMS logo

Products Navigation

SQL Backup for SQL Server

Our Partnership Status

Microsoft Certified Partner
Oracle Certified Partner
Embarcadero Technology Partner

EMS SQL Backup for SQL Server

On-line Documentation

Specify restore options


At this step you need to set recovery options and options for transaction log restore.

 

Recovery options

This group of options allows you to specify the recovery options to be applied to the restore operation.

 

RadioButton Recovery (rollbacks all uncommitted transactions)

This option specifies that the restore operation rolls back any uncommitted transactions. After the recovery process the database is ready for use.

 

RadioButton No recovery (leaves the database in the restoring state)

This option specifies that the restore operation does not roll back any uncommitted transactions.

NB: When this option is selected, the database is not usable in this intermediate, non-recovered state.

When used with a file or filegroup restore operation, this option forces the database to remain in the restoring state after the restore operation. This is useful in either of the following situations:

  • a restore script is being run and the log is always being applied;
  • a sequence of file restores is used and the database is not intended to be usable between two of the restore operations.

 

RadioButton Standby (leaves database in read-only and standby mode)

This option allows the database to be brought up for read-only access between transaction log restores and can be used with either warm standby server situations or special recovery situations in which it is useful to inspect the database between log restores.

 

Undo file name

Specify the undo file name, so that the recovery effects can be undone. The same undo file can be used for consecutive restores of the same database.

NB: If free disk space is exhausted on the drive containing the specified undo file name, the restore operation stops.

 

Restore Database Wizard_history_Specify other restore settings

 

 

CheckBox Backup the transaction log before proceeding with the restore is checked

Check this option to perform the tail-log backup before the restore. Note that the 'WITH NORECOVERY' option will be used in the backup operation so that the database state will be changed to Recovery. This guarantees that the database does not change after the tail-log backup.

Note: The tail-log backup process starts automatically on proceeding to the next step.

 

CheckBox Restore tail of log automatically

If you check this option the tail-log backup file will be added to the backup set for restoring.

 

CheckBox Replace (WITH REPLACE)

This option specifies that SQL Server database will be overwritten if it exists.

 

CheckBox Continue on error

This option determines whether the restore operation will be stopped or forced to continue if an error occurs.

 

Transaction log options

This section is available only if the Transaction log restore type was selected at the Specifying the elements of backup step.

 

RadioButton Restore all records of transaction log

Select this option to make a complete restore from transaction log backup.

 

RadioButton Restore all records of transaction log before

This option indicates that database restore is based on the transaction log records added before specified date. Pick date and specify time in the fields below.

 

RadioButton Restore all records of transaction log up to market transaction

Use this option to restore database to the state when marked transaction was committed.

 

Mark name

Specify the needed mark in the field.

 

Look for marks at or after

You need to define the start date time point to search for the marked transaction from.

 

CheckBox Include marked transaction

Enable this option to restore database to the state right after the transaction committing. If the option is disabled then database will be restored to the state right before the transaction committing.

 

CheckBox Kill connections

Set this option to kill all existing connections to the database before starting the restore process otherwise restore will fail if any connections exist.

Note: If this option is checked when the Backup the transaction log before proceeding with the restore is checked, then connections will be killed before the backup tail-log process starts.

 

 

CheckBox Check orphaned users

Check this option to detect orphaned users on restore process.

 

CheckBox Drop orphaned users

If this option is checked then found orphaned users will be dropped on the restore process.

 

<< Previous step


Next step >>